India’s squad for SA Test series Rohit Sharma named voice captain

 India’s squad for SA Test series: Rohit Sharma named vice captain
Rohit Sharma was promoted to the role of the voice captain for India’s Test team while Ravindra Jadeja was among the notable absentees from the squad named for the three-match series in South Africa.

Rohit was also named as the ODI captain for the side going forward as well as taking the role in T20Is, meaning that the Virat Kohli captaincy era in white-ball formats is now over.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Wednesday announced a 18-member squad, to be led by Virat Kohli, for the upcoming Test series in South Africa.

Jadeja, alongside Axar Patel and Ishant Sharma are reportedly suffering from injuries that have ruled them out for the Test tour, according to ESPNCricinfo. The BCCI press release stated that the following players were not available for selection due to injuries and are currently undergoing rehabilitation: Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward,” said the BCCI release signed off by Jay Shah.

With Rohit’s promotion in two formats, Ajinkya Rahane has been relieved of his duties as Test vice captain but he retained his place in the squad. Questions have been raised about his form in recent times, but Rahane was handed the captaincy in Kanpur against New Zealand when Kohli was rested. The Mumbaikar missed the second Test with what the BCCI said was a minor hamstring strain.

Post a Comment